Ref-No#: 1161

28 Nov 2018 Ref-No#: 1200

Asalamualaikum

I tried to figure out if the alcohol was derived from dates or grapes or not and was not really given a straightforward answer: “There are currently no products on our menu that contain alcohol as an ingredient. However, some items contain ingredients that have either been derived from alcohol or extracted using alcohol.
The level of alcohol present in the food is very low and in most cases all the alcohol evaporates during the production process.“

I’m assuming it would be pretty difficulty to figure out what the alcohol was derived from.

However, I’m more inclined to believe that the alcohol isn’t date or grape derived.

I read this fatwa: “Generally speaking the alcohol which is found in soft drinks is chemically made and not extracted from grapes or dates, thus it will be permissible to consume the soft drink. (Ahsanul Fatawa p.488 v.8)”

Also – by default, a food or drink product is halal, until proven otherwise.

Is this enough to enable permissibility of consumption?

Answer

Wa’alaykum as Salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

If you are sure that the alcohol is not made from dates or grapes, or it is chemically made, then it will be permissible to consume.

Once there is reason for you to believe that something could be Haraam, you cannot apply the principle that ‘everything  is Halal unless proven otherwise.’ Rather, you will have to make adequte research to ensure that you are filling your belly with only what it Halal and pure.

Our advise is to rather maintain caution in this regard, until you have absolute clarity. Keep in mind the following narration:

وعن النعمان بن بشير رضي الله عنهما قال‏:‏ سمعت رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم يقول‏:‏ “إن الحلال بين، وإن الحرام بين، وبينهما مشتبهات لا يعلمهن كثير من الناس، فمن اتقى الشبهات، استبرأ لدينه وعرضه، ومن وقع فى الشبهات، وقع فى الحرام، كالراعى يرعى حول الحمى يوشك أن يرتع فيه ألا وإن لكل ملك حمى، ألا وإن حمى الله محارمه، ألا وإن فى الجسد مضغة إذا صلحت صلح الجسد كله، وإذا فسدت فسد الجسد كله‏:‏ ألا وهى القلب” ‏(‏‏(‏متفق عليه‏.‏ وروياه من طرق بألفاظ متقاربة‏)‏‏)
An-Nu’man bin Bashir (May Allah be pleased with them) reported that the Messenger of Allah (sallallahu alayhi wa sallam) said, “What is lawful is clear and what is unlawful is clear, but between them are certain doubtful things which many people do not know. So he who guards against doubtful things keeps his religion and his honour blameless. But he who falls into doubtful things falls into that which is unlawful, just as a shepherd who grazes his cattle in the vicinity of a pasture declared prohibited (by the king); he is likely to stray into the pasture. Mind you, every king has a protected pasture and Allah’s involved limits is that which He has declared unlawful. Verily, there is a piece of flesh in the body, if it is healthy, the whole body is healthy, and if it is corrupt, the whole body is corrupt. Verily, it is the heart.” [Al-Bukhari and Muslim].

References

 لانّ الاشربة المتخذة من غير العنب ونبيذ التمر والزبيب فهو حلال شربه ما دون السكر لاستمراء الطعام والتداوي واللتقوي على طاعة الله تعالى لا للتلهي، والمسكر منه حرام وهو القدر الذي يسكر، وهو قول العامة، وإذا سكر يجب الحد عليه، ويجوز بيعه ويضمن متلفه عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله تعالى وأصح الروايتين عن محمد رحمه الله تعالى، وفي رواية عنه أن قليله وكثيره حرام ولكن لا يجب الحد لم يسكر كذا في محيط السرخسي (الفتاوى الهندية، دار الكتب العلمية، ج ٥ / ص٤٩٧)

 محمد قال: أخبرنا أبو حنيفة عن سليمان الشيباني عن ابن زياد أنه أفطر عند عبد الله رضي الله عنهما فسقاه شرابا له، فكأنه أخذ فيه فلما أصبح قال: ما هذا الشراب؟ ما كدت أهتدي إلى منزلي؟ فقال عبد الله: ما زدناك على عجوة وزبيب. قال محمد: وبه نأخذ، وهو قول أبي حنيفة رحمه الله تعالى (كتاب الآثار / ص٧٠٠)

وفى المبسوط بعد ذكر هذه الرواية من الآثار: وابن عمر – رضي الله عنه – كان معروفا بالزهد، والفقه بين الصحابة – رضي الله عنهم -، فلا يظن به أنه كان يسقي غيره ما لا يشربه، ولا أنه كان يشرب ما يتناوله نص التحريم، وقد ذكرنا أن ما سقاه كان مشتدا حتى أثر فيه على وجه ما كان يهتدي إلى أهله، وإنما قال هذا على طريق المبالغة في بيان التأثير فيه لا حقيقة السكر، فإن ذلك لا يحل، وفي قوله ما زدناك على عجوة وزبيب دليل على أنه لا بأس بشرب القليل من المطبوخ من ماء الزبيب، والتمر، وإن كان مشتدا (المبسوط – ج٢٤ / ص٥)

Tags: