Eating at a Restaurant
In Belgium it is difficult to find Halal place to eat. My family and friends sometimes take me out to Restaurant, but they sell Haraam. I eat the fish and chips. But now someone inform me that it is not permissible to even eat the fish and the chips. Please let me know if I can eat, otherwise, it will upset my family and friends.
Wa’alaykum as Salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,
Since there is a great possibility that the utensils used to cook the Haram has not been adequately washed before preparing the fish and chips, it will not be permissible to each at these Haram places. In fact, it is very probably that the fish and chips are even cooked in the same oil in which the Haram has been prepared.
Since your family and friends are aware that you are a Muslim, you should explain to them how important it is for you to consume only Halal and wholesome food. Insha Allah, they will respect your view, and excuse you from partaking.
We should realize that our life in this world is a test. At times, we have the option of displeasing Allah, at the expense of trying to keep other happy. However, as a devout and loyal Muslim, we still prefer the pleasure of Allah, even if it means upsetting those who are close to us.
We pray that Allah make it easy for you, and make you a means of guiding your friends and family.
ما لا يؤكل من اطعمة الكفار
ولا يألكون من اطعمة الكفار ثلاثة اشياء اللحم والشحم والمرق ولا يطبخون في قدروهم حتى يغسلوها (النتف في الفتاوى – 2/ 707)